To guide the development of the Marae Moana policy and legislation, a Cook Islands Marine Park Steering Committee (CIMP SC) was established and chaired by the Office of the Prime Minister. The Cook Islands Marine Park Steering Committee (CIMP SC) was comprised of: 
Government Agencies
  • Office of the Prime Minister (Chair)
  • Ministry of Marine Resources
  • National Environment Service
  • Cook Islands Tourism Corporation
  • Crown Law
  • Ministry of Finance and Economic Management
  • Seabed Minerals Authority
  • Ministry of Infrastructure and Planning
 Traditional Leaders:
  • House of Ariki
  • Koutu Nui 
Cook Islands Environmental NGO:
  • Te Ipukarea Society

The CIMP SC no longer operates now that the Marae Moana Act 2017 has established formal institutional arrangements including the Marae Moana Council and the Marae Moana Technical Advisory Group (see page "What is Marae Moana" for the composition of these groups).